FortisBC Energy Conservation Leader Award

2019 Award Recipient: Canadian Mental Health Association - Kootenays

Back to Awards page

BCNPHA and FortisBC are proud to present The FortisBC Energy Conservation Leader Award!

Established in 2018, the FortisBC Energy Conservation Leader Award recognizes a non-profit housing provider whose dedication to energy efficiency and conservation is exemplary, adopting a sound energy management strategy, investing in conservation projects, and inspiring individuals to use energy responsibly.

2019 Award Recipient: Canadian Mental Health Association – Kootenays

The Canadian Mental Health Association – Kootenays Branch received the FortisBC Energy Conservation Leader Award in recognition of the energy efficiency initiatives implemented across 10 of their buildings. The retrofits, which were made possible with funding from the Columbia Basin Trust, include replacements and upgrades to furnaces, hot water tanks, boilers, heat pumps and lighting that will save enough energy to power nearly 80 homes each year.

In total, the 17 energy conservation projects resulted are expected to save CMHA – Kootenays more than $102,000 annually, in addition to savings from the in-suite measures delivered through the Energy Conservation Assistance Program. The organization has also implemented education encouraging staff and residents to conserve energy.

The award is generously sponsored by:


Award Criteria:  

Non-profits will be awarded points for completing each of the following categories:

  • Completed an energy audit
  • Completed an energy conservation retrofit
  • Completed BCNPHA housing education course
  • Completed benchmarking
  • Completed ECAP Use RNG
  • Does not have to be a BCNPHA member but does have to be a non-profit housing provider
  • Must be a FortisBC customer (FortisBC gas or electricity)

Other Considerations:

  • Applicants will be decided internally in collaboration between BCNPHA and FortisBC
  • The FortisBC Energy Conservation Leader will be awarded at the Housing Central Conference Sector Supper

Previous Recipients:

2018 North Shore Disability Resource Centre Association