Established in 2016, the Affordable Housing Champion Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made a transformative contribution to affordable housing.


To recognizes an individual or organization that has made a transformative contribution to the affordable housing sector.


The nominee:

  • may be a person or organization
  • may be external from BCNPHA
  • may be outside of the non-profit housing sector
  • must have significantly contributed to affordable housing in BC
  • may be a BCNPHA Associate Member

Award Criteria

The nominee must:

  • demonstrate commitment and serve as a role model
  • be an advocate, ambassador and/or champion of affordable housing
  • have taken actions and shown transformative change in affordable housing, including policy and advocacy with tangible results
  • have strongly advocated on behalf of the non-profit housing sector
  • have taken initiative and displayed leadership
  • have a new way in develop unique solutions to problems in the province/region
  • passionately promote the principles of the affordable housing sector
  • have attempted to achieves sustainable solutions to affordable housing challenges

Nomination Process

The BCNPHA Awards Committee nominates individuals or organizations for this award and chooses the recipient.

2023 Award Recipient: Together We Stand!!

Together We Stand!! is an informal group of Prince George residents who joined forces to protect and advocate for people experiencing homelessness, many of them Indigenous, and living in encampments in the city. They raised their voices in support of people in the encampments, lobbying all levels of government for solutions that are carefully planned, well supported and, above all, centre reconciliation at the heart of any path forward.


Previous Recipients

  • 2022 – Khelsilem, Squamish Nation Council Chairperson
  • 2021 – Katherine McParland, in memoriam
  • 2020 – Dr. Bonnie Henry
  • 2019 – Mayor Lisa Helps, City of Victoria
  • 2018 – Marpole Students for Modular Housing
  • 2017 – Generation Squeeze
  • 2016 – Frances Bula