Housing Provider of the Year Award


2018 Award Recipient: Nanimo Aboriginal Centre

Back to Awards page

BCNPHA is proud to have launched the Housing Provider of the Year Award in 2015, which recognizes an innovative non-profit housing provider that responds to an environmental, operational or community challenge.

The deadline for submitting BCNPHA Award nominations is September 20, 2019.

Go to nomination form

2018 Award Recipient: Nanaimo Aboriginal Centre

The Nanaimo Aboriginal Centre was established on August 8, 2013. As a non-profit organization, their work focuses on education, culture and family. While all of their programs and services are designed with the urban Indigenous community in mind, all of programs and services are open to anyone living in Nanaimo. They also recognize the rich diversity of the Indigenous community in Nanaimo, that includes First Nations, Inuit and Metis. Their vision is to support the realization of a 100% high school graduation rate for Aboriginal students in Nanaimo/Ladysmith.

The 2018 award is generously sponsored by:



The nominated organization must be a BCNPHA member (housing provider) and will be considered on the following areas:

• Offers services that go beyond housing and/or work to prevent and end homelessness locally. Houses people who have been poorly served by other approaches to housing.
• Successfully advocates for the development of new non-profit housing.
• Builds a strong tenant community and community partnerships.
• Has a strong, positive, motivational impact on their staff.
• Develops new ways to manage more effectively or efficiently.
• Demonstrates originality and innovation.
• Demonstrate creativity, quality, and innovation within the context of BC’s non-profit housing sector.
• Has evidence of the impact the initiative has had on individuals, the community, the environment and/or the organization.
• Has created, individually or in partnership, a unique program or service response to a challenge facing the society or its tenants, community or physical environment.
• Has implemented a program or service response that can serve as a model for other non-profit housing providers.

Nomination form

Please review the awards criteria for the award before filling this out.

Follow the 3 steps below to complete your submission for the Housing Provider of the Year Award.

* indicates required field
Step 1. Nominated Non‐Profit Housing Provider Information:
Step 2. Nominating Organization Information:
Step 3.

Brief statement of the nominee’s contribution to the field of affordable housing. (100 words max)


Previous Recipients:

2017 YWCA Metro Vancouver, Vancouver

2016 Society of Hope, Kelowna

2015 Society of Saint Vincent de Paul, Victoria


Back to awards page